Motivation Lab Spotlight: Carlton

Here’s our next spotlight!

 

Name: Carlton

Hometown: San Francisco, CA

Favorite Food: Thai Food

Favorite Movie/TV Show: The Lord of the Rings

 

 

Q. What do you like best about the educational psychology program?

A. I love the supportive and tight-knit community among the faculty and students here!

Q. How did you decide on your current research interests?

A. I think I became interested in studying motivation from my own introspection of how unmotivated I can be at times!

Q. What’s your favorite childhood memory?

A. My favorite childhood memory was every year during the winter holidays when my whole extended family would gather at my grandparents’ house. My grandparents always wanted the grandkids to put on a performance that included singing carols, playing piano, and the occasional choreographed dance.

Q. What do you love about the city of Austin?

A. Coming from California, I have received many concerned looks about why I now reside in Texas, but I have simply fallen in love with Austin. I love to go for a run on Town Lake, try a new dish at a food trailer, or drink a latte at one of Austin’s local coffee shops.

Q. Name one thing you have always wanted to do but have not yet had the chance.

A. I’ve always wanted to climb up Half Dome at Yosemite National Park!

Q. What’s something a lot of your colleagues don’t know about you?

A. A lot of my colleagues don’t know that I’ve been involved in performing arts since high school, where I sang in Chamber Singers, played percussion in orchestra, and performed in musicals. In college, I continued singing in the Men’s Chorale and the Gospel Choir at UC Berkeley.

