Motivation Lab Spotlight: Jennifer

Our next spotlight is on graduate student member, Jennifer. Enjoy!

 

Name: Jennifer

Hometown: San Antonio, TX

Favorite Food: Sushi

Favorite Movie/TV Show: That 70’s Show

 

 

Q. How did you decide to come to UT Austin for graduate school?

A. I completed my master’s degree in 2004 and began working as an academic advisor in San Marcos. I always knew I would return to school to pursue a PhD. Throughout my advising career I thought about what would be a good fit with my future career goals and academic interests. I still can’t remember how my search led me to Ed Psych but I remember feeling that the program fulfilled all of my interests. I was very glad that UT offered the program so that I didn’t have to move far from home.

Q. What do you like best about the educational psychology program?

A. I love the people I get to interact with on a daily basis. I am so glad to be part of an extremely welcoming, intelligent, and fun group of people.

Q. What do you love about the city of Austin?

A. Austin is a very diverse and accepting city. There is always something fun to do and there are so many different parts of the city. There is something for everyone here!

Q. Name one thing you have always wanted to do but have not yet had the chance.

A. I have always wanted to bungee jump. I’m crazy afraid of heights, but I would love to do it one day, particularly by a beautiful waterfall.

Q. What was your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment?

A. In 2000, I was chosen to be a Gates Millennium Scholar. It was a humbling experience to know that I was one of the few hundred selected out of several thousand who applied. This scholarship was helpful for me to complete my undergraduate and graduate degrees.

