MERG Spotlight: Molly

Here’s a spotlight on Molly, one of undergraduate research assistants of MERG!

MollyName: Molly Marek

Hometown: Boerne, TX

Favorite Food: Chips and guacamole

Favorite Movie:  Yikes! There are too many to choose from!

Favorite Show: How to Get Away with Murder

 

Q. What do you like best about the Motivation and Education Research Group (MERG)?

A. I like that everyone in MERG is so supportive. I feel like I have an entire lab full of mentors because everyone is so willing to answer my questions or give me advice and encouragement.

Q. How did you decide to work as a MERG undergraduate research assistant?

A. I plan on studying Educational Psychology in graduate school and what better way is there to learn more about the field than to dive right in? I also had previously met Erika when I invited her to be a guest speaker for the FIG I mentor and was very interested in her work.

Q. How did you decide on your current research interests?

A. I have always intended to combine my love of teaching with my fascination with psychology to study Educational Psychology but my current research interests in literacy and motivation stem from a combination of my experience with MERG and within my Professional Development Sequence. In addition to exploring motivation with MERG, I am currently studying Elementary Education and specializing in Literacy. In the past I have also dabbled in some areas of arts education including theatre and music.

Q. What do you love about the city of Austin?

A. I love that Austin is such an active city. I am always looking for a fun way to exercise and in Austin I have found everything from beautiful running and hiking trails to rooftop yoga sessions.

Q. Do you have any interesting or unusual hobbies?

A. I love to dance and take dance classes. I’ve taken your typical Zumba classes but I also like learning new styles of dance like Waltz, Swing, Salsa and Merengue.

Q. What was your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment?

A.  This past week I was able to present my research on children’s home singing modalities at the Texas Music Educators Association Convention in San Antonio. I was one of only two undergraduates selected to present at the largest music educators conference in the nation.

